Kancoll: The Kansas Historical Quarterlies

Kansas Historical Notes

November, 1936 (vol. 5, no. 4, page 338
Transcribed by lhn; additional HTML by Susan Stafford;
digitized with permission of the Kansas State Historical Society.

     Eight of the nine directors of the Lindsborg Historical Society were re-elected to their offices October 28, 1935, at the annual meeting of the society. The new member is E. 0. Deere, who succeeded Henry Olson. Members reelected for another year were: J. A. Holmberg, Birger Sandzen, C. A. Nelson, G. E. Eberhardt, John Altenborg, A. W. Carlson, H. J. Thorstenberg, and C. R. Rooth.

     All officers of the Ness County Historical Society were reelected at the annual meeting in Ness City November 5, 1935. The officers were: Lea Maranville, president; Grace Beardslee, secretary, and Martha Borthwick, treasurer.

     Sen. Arthur Capper addressed the annual meeting of the Shawnee County Old Settlers' Association in Topeka December 5, 1935. Newly elected officers of the organization are: Miss M. L. Addis, president; Mrs. Luther Smith, vice-president, and Mrs. Frank Kambach,secretary-treasurer.

     Olin Templin was the featured speaker at the annual meeting of the Douglas County Historical Society in Lawrence December 11, 1935. Officers elected to serve during 1936 include: Mrs. E. M. Owen, president; Mrs. Ida Lyons, first vice-president; F. N. Raymond, second vice-president; Mrs. Caroline B. Spangler, secretary, and Walter Varnum, treasurer.

     Kirke Mechem, secretary of the Kansas State Historical Society, addressed the Memorial Craftsmen of Kansas in Salina January 10, 1935.


Go to previous article     Go to cover page for this issue     Go to KHQ main page